🔍 Read the full analysis: A Look At How Retell Uses OpenAI For Monthly Call Volume on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify the measurement period, how a call is counted, or which models are involved, so the figure cannot be independently compared with other usage metrics.
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models, a reported usage figure that points to substantial activity but leaves key measurement details unanswered, as described in the original analysis. The announcement does not state when the total was measured, how Retell defines a call, or which OpenAI models are used.
The announcement links Retell’s voice AI service with OpenAI models and reports a monthly total of 100 million calls. It does not explain whether that count includes call attempts, completed conversations, inbound and outbound activity, or another measure of platform usage. The figure is therefore Retell’s reported volume, not a defined count that can be matched directly against other services.
Retell has not identified the specific OpenAI models involved or described what they do during calls. The information available also contains no customer list, use-case breakdown, share of calls using OpenAI models, or earlier volume for comparison. It does not report call completion rates, accuracy, latency, customer outcomes, or pricing.
The announcement provides a monthly call count, not figures for unique users, revenue, or successful outcomes. Because it supplies neither a dated measurement window nor a prior baseline, the number does not establish a growth rate. No independent verification method is described.
What 100 Million Calls Can Show
The reported volume offers a headline indication of the scale at which Retell says it operates. For organizations weighing voice automation, and for companies that provide the models and infrastructure behind it, a large call count may be relevant when judging whether a service is being used in real operating settings.
But volume alone says little about the quality or results of those interactions. It does not establish how many customers or callers are represented, whether calls reached a completed conversation, or whether the platform reduced costs or improved service. Without a common counting method and performance information, the figure cannot show how Retell compares with another provider or what users get from the service.
The distinction matters because a raw activity count can be read more broadly than the details support. Retell has reported a number of calls per month; the announcement does not show that all were completed, successful, or handled using OpenAI models.
Popular right now

Sony WH-1000XM6 Wireless Noise-Canceling Over-Ear Headphones, Blue, Bundle

Ninja Luxe Café Mini Plus Espresso and Drip Coffee Machine with AutoFroth, Stainless Steel, ES351

Dyson Ball Animal 3 Extra Upright Vacuum
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retell’s OpenAI-Powered Voice Service
Retell offers a voice AI platform, and the announcement says OpenAI models help power it. Such a service handles interactions by phone, but the available information does not describe Retell’s technical setup or identify which stages of a conversation rely on OpenAI. It would be speculative to assign particular tasks to the models without that information.
The announcement centers on the 100 million monthly calls figure. It provides no earlier total, trend line, or comparison period, so the number cannot be characterized as growth or an increase. It also does not disclose customer names or usage by industry, limiting what can be inferred about where the reported activity comes from.
Retell’s figure is best read as a company-reported usage metric. Establishing how it relates to completed customer conversations, system performance, or the OpenAI models themselves would require additional detail that is not included in the announcement.
“Its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.”
— Retell, as described in the announcement
How Retell Counts Each Call
The announcement does not say when the 100 million-call figure was measured or define what counts as a call. It remains unclear whether the total includes attempted or completed calls, repeat attempts, inbound and outbound calls, or other activity. Without those definitions, readers cannot determine precisely what the headline number represents.
The OpenAI models and their roles are also unspecified. The announcement does not say what proportion of calls uses them, how they fit into Retell’s system, or whether calls are handled through a mix of models and other components. No information is provided about accuracy, latency, completion rates, customer outcomes, or independent verification.
It is also unclear whether Retell will publish more detail or when it might do so. No next milestone or timeline for additional disclosures is stated.
Details Needed to Compare Usage
The next useful disclosure from Retell would be a dated measurement period and a clear definition of a call, including whether the reported total covers attempts, completed conversations, or both. A breakdown of inbound and outbound activity, if applicable, would help readers understand what the monthly figure includes.
Details identifying the OpenAI models and their functions could clarify how the companies’ technology relates to the reported activity. Performance measures, customer outcomes, or a comparison with a previous period would add information about service quality and change over time. For now, the announcement states the monthly volume and the reported use of OpenAI models, but gives no timetable for further details.
Key Questions
What did Retell report?
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not provide a measurement date or a definition of “call.”
Which OpenAI models does Retell use?
The announcement does not identify the specific OpenAI models or explain what tasks they perform in Retell’s service.
Does the figure mean 100 million completed conversations?
That is not specified. Retell has not said whether the count covers completed conversations, call attempts, repeat attempts, or another measure.
Does 100 million calls show that Retell’s usage is growing?
No growth rate can be established from the announcement. It gives no earlier baseline or comparison period against which to measure change.
What would help readers evaluate the claim?
A dated reporting window, a clear counting method, details about the models’ roles, and performance or customer-outcome data would make the usage figure easier to interpret and compare.
Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com
